Goddess Maa Durga Logo
Maa Laxmi
Hindi Website Maa Durga Goddess Donation Media

Goddess Maa Laxmi Forms Ashta Lakshmi

The Ashta Laxmi Eight Lakshmi forms 

Wealth Goddess Laxmi is worshipped in different forms most popularly in Eight (Ashta) Laxmi .Ashta Lakshmi Strotam describes the significance and differences among them.Regularly praying different forms of these may bring different fortune in life .

1)Adi Lakshmi or Maha Lakshmi

She is the daughter of sage bhigu and first form of  Ashta laxmi . She has four hands holding lotus and white flag.

2)Dhana Laxmi :

She is the goddess of dhana (money) . She provides wealth to her dovotee.


3) Dhanya Laxmi :

Dhanya means food grains So she is giver of agricultural wealth for feeding.

4)Gaja Laxmi :

Also called elephant laxmi , Giver of animal wealth like cattle and elephants she is giver of power of royalty.Myths have it that Gaja-Lakshmi helped Lord Indra regain his lost wealth from the depth of the ocean. This form of Goddess Lakshmi is the bestower and protector of wealth, prosperity.

5) Santana Laxmi :

Santana Laxmi form bless good healty long life  child to her devotee . she is goddess of offspring. This form of Goddess Lakshmi is depicted as six-armed, holding two pitchers, a sword, and a shield; the other two hands are engaged in abhaya mudra and most importantly, for holding a child on her lap.

6) Veera Laxmi :

Bestower of valour in battles and courage and strength for overcoming difficulties in life.

7)Vijaya Laxmi or Jaya Laxmi :

Vijaya means triumph. So, Vijaya laxmi symbolizes victory in all parts of life she is also known as Jaya Laxmi, she is shown as having eight arms sitting on a lotus wearing a red sari

8)Vidya Laxmi :

Vidya means knowledge as well as education in life So, this form of Goddess Lakshmi is the giver of knowledge of the arts and sciences as Goddess Saraswati does. Vidya Lakshmi is shown as sitting on the lotus, four-armed, clothing a white sari . Two hands hodling lotus other two hands being in abhaya and varada mudra.